Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to higher positions. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples.

Various corporations elevate the position of their staffs in their organisation basing it on the duration they have been employed. Despite undeniable drawbacks, such as it being seen as a system that reward royalty more than it does skillset and talent, there are a few benefits worth looking at which includes the practice being seen as a unique way of protecting the workforce form being poached by competitors after gaining a lot experience and knowledge overtime while working in the organization.

On one hand, the act of rewarding Job promotions to only long-serving workers can be viewed as a biased practice if it is not managed property. For instance, if a staff is promoted by virtue of having worked in a corporation for many years, while disregarding their performance at work, skillset, talent and their capability can leave a bad taste in the mouth of other workmates who may be more qualified for the task, This may cause divisions in the workforce and result to poor working relations, which eventually can affect the overall performance of the company.

On the other hand, businesses that elevate job positions of staffs who have served with then for a long period of time can use practice to encourage new co-workers who may have later joined the organisation to remain royal and urge them to be more resourceful, hence giving them a purpose and a reason not leave. This royalty reward system, as one may call it, can be a strategy that can be used to protect workers from being porched by competitor

In conclusion, therefore, using the numbers of years a staff has worked in an corporation as a metric to base on when giving a promotion has far reaching consequences than the merits as it can negatively affect the overall performance of the staff in one wat or the other as shown.