Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to higher positions. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples.

Some believe that only employees who have been working for a long period of time for a company should get career advancements. While working in a company for a lifetime shows person’s loyalty to that organization, I totally disagree with the view, because promotion opportunities should be based on individual’s skills and performances at the workplace, and it would hugely affect company’s benefits in the long term.

Companies should promote their workers based on their talents and innovations they have made, not solely on incumbency of an employee. Doing so would create a lack of motivation in newly hired workers. As a result, people will leave that job because their efforts are not appreciated there. It would create a decrease in the number of young workers in the company.

Additionally, young people are more likely to contribute to the merits of a company, because they are in the early stage of their career and driven to get promoted. Giving an opportunity to young workers to prove their abilities and promote them in return would greatly benefit both individuals and the company itself. If the company promotes only staff members who have spent several years in the same job it would result in laziness and lack of inspiration. Since they will think that why should I bother, in all cases I will be promoted after a certain number of years. This attitude would make the company gain less, stay behind its rivals.

In conclusion, despite the fact that spending more years in a single workplace shows loyalty but promoting only based on tenure would negatively impact companies’ innovative growth and make young employees perform less and quit the job.