Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to higher positions. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples.

Promoting employees with their position is always a contentious issue. To a certain extent, I agree that businesses should elevate those who have been with the company for an extended period. However, I also believe that the quality of the workers and fairness should take precedence.

Granted, employees who have been working for years gain more experience. By getting familiar with the job, they can finish the tasks more quickly and efficiently. Hence, they should be promoted as a result. However, some majors do not require years of experience exposure to the work but creativity. For example, norms for elevating in Marketing are the capability to generate innovative ideas and an agile mindset rather than the amount of time you have spent in the major. Therefore, promotions should be based solely on the quality of the employee’s work and their ability to meet the demands of the job, regardless of whether they are newcomers or long-time employees.

Furthermore, basing promotion decisions solely on tenure is inherently unfair. Take, for example, new employees who demonstrate equal or superior performance to their predecessors may feel demoralized by the lack of opportunity for advancement. This sense of unfairness can lead to a lack of motivation and ultimately result in decreased performance, impacting the company’s profitability. Therefore, being more discerning in promotion decisions by not only looking at the amount of time can contribute to the company’s bottom line.

In conclusion, while longevity in a role can contribute to gaining experience, it alone should not be the sole criterion for promotion. Prioritizing efficiency and fairness in the company environment fosters a sense of dedication among employees, leading to improved performance and ultimately enhancing the company’s profitability.