In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, the aim of travellers for their journeys has changed as there are almost no any differences between their homeland and host one.

Personally, I believe that there are only two major reasons which can be attributed to this trend. Although I acknowledge both the advantages and disadvantages to this presented statement, I opine that negative aspects far outweigh positives.

There are two predominant reasons why the cities are becoming more and more similar. Primarily, improved commerce on a worldwide level made a significant promotion of a singular building resource. With the development of science in terms of modern technology, many countries recognised how it is essential and profitable to use certain high-quality construction materials, so thanks to the enhanced way of trading, like airplanes and lorries, it is now possible to share them for the construction of accommodations and industrial buildings. Secondly, the impression of a specific building encourages countries to copy it. As all entities, people naturally prefer to imitate those who make them impressed. For example, immigrants who come to Uzbekistan, often tell Uzbek people that apartments do not really differ from their one by its architecture materials, such as brick and concrete, and also height. Thus, the global trade system and sense of preference contribute to cities looking alike to each other.

On the one hand, by this phenomenon, many countries augment their income. To be specific, copied work demands only few workers because there is not any new ideas or special elements. For instance, government can hire only one architecture to control the building process rather than employing many of them. As a result, government allocate less amount of money for them, boosting their economy.

On the other hand, I contend that negatives are much more significant compared to the positives since many cities risk losing their unique cultures. In the other words, similarities mean that cities will not have special attraction, which, as a result, many of them will receive significant damage on tourism. However, there are some countries that are fully relied on tourism. Dubai is the excellent example to this because it is well-know by his huge construction, but if some cities will look like Dubai, no-one will visit creating a economic crisis for them.

To summarize, many cities now do not differ from each other due to the sense of desire and worldwide trade system. Hence, I firmly believe that for this phenomenon the disadvantages exceed the advantages.