In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Several decades ago, the main appeal of travelling abroad for people was numerous different aspects of new destinations from their home countries. However, in these days those distinctions between cities are fading. There are variety of reasons underlying this case, and i believe that drawbacks of this ongoing trend are more significant.

To start, several viable reasons can be attributed to the disappearence of distinct and unique features of cities. The chief among them would be globalization. That is, more infrastructures and city designs are becoming similar, and more cities are being erected as a part of sustainable development that do not harm the environment. In additon, due to lack of space in cities building are being erected in vertical dimension, which also contributes to the similarity between cities. In almost all metropolices such as New York and Tokyo, for instance, one can see high-rise buildings that may not have more different features in common. Another point worth mentioning would be cultural exchange, due to the availability of affrodable means of transportion, In other words, individuals who travel overseas and settle down would contribute to the overall layout of the city by simply setting up their businesses. In many countries around the world, uzbek people, for exapmle, opened their own restaurants with similar designs as in their home country, which plays a small part to the similarity.

I argue that the disappearence of distinction among tourist destinations would be more of a disadvantage. First and foremost, this would lead to the loss of cultural identity. This is because, having globalized the layout of infrastructures, cities would lack their national and historical traditons of bilding designs that inherited from their ancestors. As a result, there would be no point for people to travel abroad to explore cultural differences that include new destination’s traditions and style of architecture. Cities like Rome and Tokyo can be a valid proof why many people around the world visit, which represents unique architecture of buildings like Collosseum and ancient pagodas. Similarly, local identity would be lost, if cities would be less distinct. As more tourists visit to a poarticular destination for its unique features. As an example, individuals travel to Egypt to see its piramidas, that makes this country stand out from the rest of the world.

In conclusion, having explored the reasons why the similarity between cities are disappearing, i am inclined ti say that potential benefits of this trend is still pale in comparison to possible drawbacks.