In the past, people used to travel to see the differences from their home country. However, the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays. What are the causes of these similarities? Do you think that advantages of these similarities outweigh the disadvantages?

Previously, tourism existed in order to showcase the Indigenous and pure attractions to visitors. Sadly, this notion has diminished since all the sceneries in the world seem monotonous these days.

In my view, this issue can be rooted in the reshaping of people’s perceptions, the imperialism of Western culture, and the modeling of other successful destinations. The media has a remarkable influence on people, as confirmed by the majority; this driving force to act similarly to Western countries and to like and dislike as a Western country does reshapes one’s beliefs. This will lead to a common norm in society, which then affects various industries, including tourism, causing changes as the norms have been determined. In addition, countries tend to model their approaches on successful tourist-attracting destinations due to economic incentives.

Although having suitable and comfortable accommodations is desirable for anyone, in my opinion, this is more of a bane than a boon. A monotonous world would be a boring one. For example, having a thousand Eiffel Towers all over the world might seem thrilling at first; however, it would impair the French tourism industry for sure, since no one would bother to undertake an arduous journey to visit something that could be seen from their back window.

In conclusion, as interesting as having all kinds of attractions conveniently accessible seems, one might not even notice it as imperialism, and the benefit of some private group might be involved. However, this will cost uniform cities with no attractions whatsoever.