In the past, people used to travel to see the differences from their home country. However, the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays. What are the causes of these similarities? Do you think that advantages of these similarities outweigh the disadvantages?

The role of traveling in contemporary society has become a subject of considerable debate. Landscape offered as tourist destinations has undergone significant changes, resulting in similarities from a country to another country. The primary reason for this issue is modernization, causing a loss of countries’ identity. From my point of view, it carries more disadvantages than benefits.

Examining the reasons, modernization that spread around the globe destructs origins and constructions. A number of countries have rebuilt their structures to enhance their functionality, preferring modest and skyscraper buildings. As a result, some ancient constructions have been replaced with some uniform buildings, losing their historical and cultural values and resulting in similar styles and architectures. For example, there is not any significant difference between Jakarta, Indonesia, and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, as they both share the same model of structurals, making them look dull and monotonous.

Nevertheless, the potential drawbacks deserve critical attention. A notable concern is that of crisis identity because what truly represents their signature has decreased. Generations these days cannot recognize traditional cultures so that they are not able to preserve their counties’ traditions. As a consequence, a number of tourists may lose their interest to visit places around the world, since they find it not worthy. For example, travelers from Sweden want to travel to Indonesia, finding Indonesian signature dishes. However, in Indonesia itself, many traditional markets that sell those foods are already replaced as modern restaurants, such as KFC and Burger King. As we know, they can easily find them in their home country.

Overall, I feel that preserving ancient landmarks that represent their characteristics is essential so that they can attract more visitors. In addition, the negative impact weighs more than its advantages.