In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Many young learners used to prefer studying in their home country after completing their bachelor studies. Presently, they find more opportunities to study in a foreign country. The advantages of this trend are improved learning skills and the experience gained in the job market. On the other hand, brain drain and shortage of skilled workers are the primary disadvantages.

The main benefits of studying abroad after a university degree include enhanced learning outcomes and the knowledge of a competitive work environment. Students who have just completed university studies polish their learning skills in the best universities abroad. Moreover, part-time jobs provide them exposure to work in various public and private places, improving their communication and public dealings. For instance, almost all European universities allow students to work for a year or two after completion of their higher studies to develop their soft skills in the market.

Despite these advantages, studying in foreign universities results in a brain drain of genius minds and a decreased number of individuals back home. When an increasing number of youth get admission to higher studies abroad, this results in the waste of talent necessary for each nation. In the same vein, many skilled individuals get settled in the host country and provide their services there which results in the loss of professionals. For example, the Ministry of Immigration reported that in 2023 alone, more than 1 million professionals had left Pakistan to work abroad.

In conclusion, studying abroad after a university degree can be advantageous for students because it enhances their learning skills and provides insight into the job market. however, it also results in the loss of genius minds and professional workers