In today's fast paced world, achieving a work-life balance is more difficult than ever before. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, achieving a work-life balance has become progressively significant. Some would argue that finding balance between work duties and private lives is tougher than ever.

Firstly, the increase of workload and occupational stress have made it more challenging for individuals to maintain a healthy balance between their careers and personal lives. Companies and businesses usually require their employees to work overtime and to finish task immediately. In China, the “996” working hour system is widespread among corporations, the personnel have to work for 12-hour period 6 days a week, from 9 am to 9 pm. Conversely, the workers often start working earlier and come back their homes at midnight in fact. Therefore, keeping harmony between work and life has been a struggle for the majority of people.

Secondly, with the development of technology, the boundaries between work and home life has become unclear, leading people to be constantly linked to their work, even during off-hours. Many enterprises’ managers expect their staff members to be completely focused on work and ready to do their work responsibilities at any time. In South Korea, where work culture is famous for its high demands, the growth of KakaoTalk has blurred the line between careers and personal time. Many employers frequently use it to contact their employees outside of the working hours, resulting in a continuous wave of work-related notifications.