In today's world, knowledge is fast replacing physical resources and cheap labor as the driver of growth. There is a lot of evidence that economic development is now increasingly linked to a nation's ability to acquire and apply knowledge. Therefore, learning should be a lifelong process to gain knowledge and practice new skills. Write an essay to say whether you agree or disagree with the statement "It is never too late to learn."

In light of an increasingly fast-paced world, our ways of life have shifted drastically. Notable among these changes is the way knowledge is acquired throughout one’s lives. A school of thought holds that gaining knowledge should be deemed a lifelong process, and thus it is never too late to learn. I completely agree with this sentiment.

The merits of lifelong learning are, for the most part, widely touted. In the past, agriculture was the dominant sector of the economy, which mostly required humans’ labor and physical resources. Due to its repetitive nature, most people can fulfill their tasks and lead decent lives without having to practice new skills. However, the industrialization era has ushered in technological breakthroughs and newfound discoveries, with knowledge emerging as the driver of economic growth. As a result, a nation’s prosperity has become predominantly dependent on its ability to apply existing insights and acquire novel ones.

In addition, in a modern society where creativity and novelty are widely embraced, it is crucial that individuals and businesses continually broaden their knowledge and hone their skills to stand out in an impressive field of competitors. This manifests itself starkly in the way many senior employees have been laid off owing to a lack of digital literacy and novel skills. Also, there have been instances where several well-established businesses failed to keep up with the ever-evolving markets and eventually went bankrupt. These are a testament to how lifelong learning determines what kind of person we become, what kind of career we will have, and ultimately what kind of life we will lead.

In conclusion, given the trajectory of technological advances in this day and age, it is hard to overstate the importance of lifelong learning. In order for societies to grow and economies to thrive, I contend that lifelong learning should be a never-ceasing journey throughout one’s lives.