In today's world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can art tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

The digital era these days comprises improved science fields; however, we still highly present a special respect and value to artists as arts could interpret many aspects in our life that advanced science and technology cannot explain. From my personal perspective, arts can dig deeper into one’s emotions and support humans to experience the diversity of life.

Granted, feelings can be conveyed and expressed through the form of arts. Besides recreational aspects, artists often create their works in order to store memories or emotions that are hard to express. Those feelings are transmitted through multiple aesthetic ways, such as music, painting, or literature; nonetheless, one specially similar feature is that those methods are designed to touch the feelings of other people, which could generate sympathy amongst people in the same community. To be specific, the melody, rhythm, and beat in a song will always be adjusted to suit the content and emotions that the producer desires to convey. Due to those appropriate and elegant shifts in the way artists express, people would be more likely to comprehend profoundly and be attracted, which enhances empathy in society. In contrast, psychology, a science field aiming to investigate individuals’ emotions, cannot precisely predict and interpret feelings of certain people. Even technology and machines, which do not have the emotional aspects as human beings, can only provide users with enough information in a programmed way.

Additionally, arts could also accompany us on the road of exploring the world and many new aspects of life. Admittedly, art is a uniqueness that only humans possess on this planet and it also brings us with multi-faceted perspectives. Unlike science and technology, arts are performed and presented based on the artists themselves rather than follow any fixed order. As a result, this challenges science and advanced technology to find keys to unlock the mysteries for various views. Regarding an artwork as a puzzle and it could be solved by many methods, notwithstanding, each way leads to another result, which stimulates people to unlock the mysteries for a full understanding of that artwork in order to discover more aspects. To illustrate, although the painting ‘Mona Lisa’ is just a portrait of a girl with a smile, many scientists still try to figure out whether her smile carries any special meanings. However, the further the research investigates, the larger number of hypotheses emerges. With that being said, arts assist us with a multidimensional perspective with a view to opening our mind and insights about life.

In conclusion, while the development of science and advanced technology nowadays keep going, arts are still highly evaluated thanks to their function in transmitting emotions and moods, along with opportunities to explore more via disparate views, which could be impossible for science to operate the same.