In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, we have reached a really digitalized era. This situation drives us to be more globalized and therefore, English skill is absolutely an important tool to survive during this moment.

With English, people have their key to understand the global situation clearly. It is also a language that can be used to interact with people across the globe. Not only that, English skill is also a way to unlock several opportunities abroad.

However, the local language should not be put away. It shows the real identity of some people or ethnic groups, which furthermore emphasize and explain their way of life. As an identity, it is hard to imagine if these local languages go extinct – it was just like a boy losing his name.

I personally argue that English and the local language are not conflicting with each other. It can be observed from what happened in Bali, where I found the locals speak their own dialect while, on the other hand, they also have abilities to communicate in foreign languages toward tourists.

When it comes to traditional ceremonies, the Balinese use their own language to execute several processions. This creates a colorful and unique ambiance towards their culture.

Moreover, both languages can also be used to strengthen each other. English can be used as a teaching language for foreigners when it comes to learning some local lingos, and vice versa.

To wrap, I think English and local languages should be preserve pararelly. This would create a new horizon of human civilization, while boosting the local identity and uniqueness