Increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school replacing books and other printed materials like exam and assignments what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

As the years go by and society keeps on growing, we have begun to see every aspect of daily life change and adapt to the rises in modern engineering, medicine, entertainment, technology and education. To mention the last two is of great importance as they have been both tangled up in a growing trend of discourse thanks to the new initiative there is to provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in their school however this seems to be pushing out the use of textbooks or other printed materials; making teachers, faculties and other academics compare what there is to gain and what there is to lose in this situation.

This new trend previously mentioned has seemed to make a big tumble in social media, the why seems to come from many stated reasons by both students and teachers who support the concept; they all argue that including this type of tools and resources for students can be highly beneficial to them as it allows them a chance to develop much needed technological skills that will help them prevail in the current digital era in their future careers, expand their creativity and facilitate their learning experience in the classroom for all involved.

Even though the theme seems to be well received by many, some others express concern for the consequences in long term this may have in the academic world, some of which include aspects like the elimination of text books and the decrease in academic writing to be published in physical copies, behavioural issues in students such as distractions, short attention span and a bad relationship with screen time regulations as well as the discardment of teachers who are not qualified to use them or even know how to.

This topic is bigger that just the application in the academic field, changes and evolution are inevitable to reach and address as the world gets older, it is part of the human nature to grasp for more and better conditions to what is a necessary and vital thing for them, one can only hope to make the right choice according to their need and values towards difficult matters such as this one.