Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extend do you agree or disagree

Many people suppose that current environmental problems could only be eradicated by the government and large companies and individuals do not play any crucial role in this phenomenon. Personally, I partially agree with this assumption thanks to various reasons, which will be mentioned in this essay.

The government and large companies have enough ability to alleviate the environmental deterioration due to their enormous budget and influence on society. Regarding the former, efficient campaigns that could make a distinction on several areas need an abundant amount of money to investigate and operate, which could be adapted by national funds. For instance, the government-supported expansion of the wind energy system in Vietnam, supplemented by corporate investment, has remarkably declined the emissions. With respect to the latter, the government has several authorities to promulgate laws to tackle and punish problems. Tax increase in vehicles using fossil fuel is an example, which directly discourages residents from using them and commuting by more eco-friendly alternatives such as public transportation.

However, I’m also convinced that residents play a pivotal role in recovering the environmental circumstances. Every decision and behavior made by individuals would affect the environment like throwing rubbish or using which energy. Cooperating together with more conscious awareness would step by step contribute to more immense optimistic results in the surrounding. For example, Vietnamese organizations held various education campaigns about the significant yields conferred from using electric vehicles, directly reducing the amount of toxic gases released from fossil fuel in this nation. In addition, they could also engage in several environmental trends to support eco-friendly brands while boycotting companies had activities having repercussions on the surrounding.

In conclusion, while it is undeniable that the government and large companies could make a difference due to their budget and influential impact on society, I still believe that individuals have capabilities to make various changes to tackle environmental problems.