Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a notion stating that the effort of the public is indifferent to the improvement of the environment, while the authorities and large corporations are the ones who can truly make notable progress. From my point of view, I totally disagree with this statement for reasons outlined in the following passages.

First of all, in order to make the environment better suited for living, the contribution of each individual can not be underestimated. To illustrate, residents can organize local cleaning campaigns helping to clean up the neighborhood, find ways to reduce carbon footprint, and most importantly, motivate others around them to do so. Once there are enough people taking actions to resolve environmental issues, there will be sufficient manpower to transform a polluted area into a hospitable place for living and to reduce greenhouse effect. The accumulation of tiny gradual improvements from each person, eventually will make a big difference in the long run.

Without a doubt the contribution of the governments and big companies cannot be overlooked in regards to preserving the environment. It is evident people of great power play an important role in leading others and raising their awareness of environmental problems. Moreover, they have the financial resources to invest in cutting-edge technology that can greatly increase the rate at which the environment can be improved. However, if littering continues, all of the work to preserve nature will go to waste. In short, in order to enhance the quality of the natural world, everyone, including both the governments and citizens, must make an effort to protect and keep the natural world intact.

Summing up, it is the joint effort of both the whole population and the authorities that makes a difference in environmental protection.