Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g., at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, information technology has transformed the way we live and work, and people are now able to work from anywhere outside the workplace. While there are some drawbacks to it, I firmly believe that its advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.

Since remote work relies on the Internet, the connection may be one of the biggest drawbacks of this mobility. People have to make sure whether their homes, the coffee shop, or the accommodation they stay in have a stable Internet connection for the effectiveness of their work. This issue may also affect the communication in a team setting, which then can lead to less productive work results.

Another detrimental effect that people with remote jobs may experience is overwork and burnout. Even though working from home or anywhere may sound amazing, some people argue that there is a high chance of their personal lives and work getting mixed. For instance, I know a friend who admits that she prefers the traditional way of work, which is in the office, compared to remote work. It is because she is the type of person who needs to have social interaction in order to stay focused.

Despite these drawbacks, we can say that there are more benefits to working from anywhere. For instance, people who have worked remotely claim that they have more flexibility or work-life balance. They also have better time efficiency in regards to the commute time since they need not to drive or use public transport. As a result, no commute brings benefits to our environment because there are less traffic jams, which means lower carbon emission.

In conclusion, although information technology may present certain challenges, the benefits it brings make it a positive development.