Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g., at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Information technology ( IT ) enables many people to do their work outside their workplace. Many companies transformed their employment from going to the center to working from home due to its benefits, in the other hand many companies are against working from home as they see it as a less productive method.

One of the primary benefits of remote work for companies is that it lowers the cost of renting a suitable workplace which includes devices for the employees, offices, suitable space, and electric bill. The second benefit is providing comfort for employees with remote work the employee will have the ability to control his surroundings.

However, some companies suggest that remote work can reduce the productivity of the company as it allows employees to avoid working without being caught, employees might struggle to stay on task, as the home environment is usually filled with distractions, such as children, pets and family members which can lead to decline in production.

In my opinion, remote work has many more advantages than disadvantages as it allows married employees to stay with their families and it will lower the cost for the company and for the individuals, as they won’t have to pay for gas or public transportation, in addition to that recent studies shows that a comfortable zone increases the productivity for the individuals, However for the disadvantages of lazy employees, companies can make a program to watch the employees while working to make sure they are doing what they are supposed to do.