Intelligence is the most important factor for a leader. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When someone is willing to apply for a fundamental role like a leader, it is important to have the gut to be able to serve the people around, and being an intelligent leader could be as important as any other role, but not in every position.

People usually seek those who have high IQs to assist them with the tasks they are willing to work on, and sometimes they require them to be leaders if they see them as smart enough. Sometimes, intelligence helps the leader in providing their team with smart ideas, in addition to making the team more powerful compared to others.

But looking at this factor and not considering other factors is a con because some leaders are smart, but they are not friendly to their teammates and do not even listen to others’ ideas when they are brainstorming to come up with new ideas for the group. In this case, being smarter than everyone else does not mean anything because who wants to be surrounded by a smart person if they are not going to listen to others. It is very critical for a leader to listen to others and sometimes adopt their ideas if the idea fits the plan better.

Leaders are sometimes smart, but if someone under their administration is smarter than them at some point, that does not mean that they should ignore them; they should do the opposite. Supporting them and taking advantage of their capacity is important to make the team stronger, and the leader, in this case, could be better. Like Elon Musk, he is a very smart guy, and he is now working with the Trump administration.

In conclusion, being a smart leader is important, but not always, especially when a leader is smart but is not good in other aspects.