Intelligence is the most important factor for a leader. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Leadership skills consist of various traits, yet it is suggested that the primary one for a leader is intelligence. I completely agree with this stance for several reasons.

The chief argument in support of that view is that it is vital for someone at the forefront to be able to guide a team to the right path. This obviously enforces one to be wit and smart, as plenty of analyses along with information should be taken into account. What is more, leaders have to not only think thoroughly about tactics, but also reach a definite conclusion, since there prone to be plenty of options in mind. Eventually, due to the fact that in general leaders are not entitled to make mistakes, they scrutinize literally every detail and possible circumstance for the sake of success, making their burden mainly hinged on the level of intelligence.

Another reason for agreement is that intelligence helps enormously when in comes to working on weaknesses. Undoubtedly, It is a must for a leader to assist their teammates by distinguishing their weak points and finding remedies for them, not least because minimizing them plays a pivotal role in making a progress. This is especially useful if one struggles with an unique problem that requires different and analytical approach. There are also benefits for leaders themselves in this term, since they are not immune to having flaws, they should take actions over them even more precisely. However, smart people are clearly aware of their weaknesses and capable of getting rid of them on their own, which, in turn, means that intelligence is beneficial for both leaders and teammates.

In conclusion, I share the idea that for a leader intelligence is a staple factor, because it provides two essential benefits for a team’s success.