Intelligence is the most important quality for a leader. Do you agree or disagree ?

There is an ongoing question of whether intellectual intelligence is the most required skill for lidership. Although i understand why some people see intelligence as a significant trait of liders, i stand with those who consider that there are other important skills due to multiple reasons.

On the one hand, proponents of the view that all liders must be intellectually superior cite various reasons to support their stance. One of the primary grounds is strategic thinking. To explain, all liders should be the ones who can understand complex situations that occur during their lidership and be able to make wise decisions that can solve problems effectively in a short period of time. Moreover, adaptability is a key skill of intelligent liders. They can assess strategies and adjust plans when situations change or fail to work out as expected. Thus, many people, in most of the cases, see wisdom as a way to successful lidership, as it enables leaders to guide their teams confidently through challenges and achieve their goals.

On the other hand, others, including me, contend that lidership requires other much more essential qualities than many people realize. One of the primary reasons for this is that despite significant intellectual intelligence necessity, emotional intelligence is the foundation of any lidership. It is crucial for liders to understand their own and team members’ emotional states, which leads to better decision-making and a deeper connection with their team, allowing them to lead with understanding rather than control. Furthermore, liders also should have inspiration and communication skills. They must be able to explain their points of view accurately to make it understandable to each member of their team and connect with their team deeper, motivating them to work on their goals with enthusiasm. Hence, qualities such as emotional intelligence and communication skills can be even more valuable than intelligence.

To conclude, even though many people consider intelligence as the main trait liders should have, i side with those who think that it is important for liders to be more emotionally intelligent and capable of inspiring.