Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary society, the credits of job interviews in employment procedure has sparked debate regarding whether it is a reasonable mean to select applicants. While some argue that there must be more scientific approach to filter out suitable employees, I agree with this view

On the one hand, the process and questionnaire regarding job interview are virtually familiar, thus the material preparation in advance may influence the authenticity. As capacities of search engines increasingly enhance, candidates tend to conduct preparations in advance about possible interview questions or enterprise culture, which helps to tackle unexpected situations. Initially, this approach is supportive and encourages people to know better about companies. Nevertheless, more and more “professional” interview aids have been emerged in recent years; moreover, some institutions associated with interview aids have taught to cheat in their resumes in order to get ideal positions. Over time, this phenomenon ultimately results that someone incapable is installed in a significant position, posing significant risks to enterprise management and even undermining profitability.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that job interviews can reflect applicant’s competitiveness in some extent, however performances on interviews are significantly restricted by applicants’ physical and mental conditions in that day. Consequently, interview is not a comprehensive way to evaluate personal values. For instance, trivialities, such as failing to catch the bus shift, can be the primary factor to influence personal performance, leading interviewer to yield incorrect judgments.

In conclusion, while performances on job interviews can be a factor to determine whether candidates are competent, it neglects the effect of other personal factors. Consequently, I remain convinced that interview’s performance can be one of indications, which need to integrate other selective methods, to make a comprehensive judgment.