Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interviewing has been being one of the primary hiring methods in most companies. Having said that, some people are of the opinion that this method can not be deemed as a suitable way of recruitment. In this essay, I intend to discuss recruiting methods and the importance of employing a combination of them.

Undoubtedly, the interview has been one of the first criteria for hiring new workforce. The success of a company is linked with employing superb employees, which plays a critical role in the future of the firm. Hence, it takes to be executed as well as possible. The Interviewer has to be familiar with the interviewing skills as well as adequate vocational knowledge. Although it is a daunting task, it can fullfill the needs of small scale companies.

However, there have been introduced some other methods to assess new workforce. This may include a combination of methods in order to filter candidates. For instance, individuals may be informed by advertising and then, before making an appointment, companies may hold some written tests in the purpose of analyzing the knowledge of participants. Subsequently, some group discussion meetings may need to be hold in order to filter them into a shortlist candidates. Finally, remained candidates are interviewed in order to choose the best ones. Besides that, some reference checks may be required in some companies.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that interview as the basic recruitment criteria can be used in small companies ,but for hiring more splendid employees, firms, particularly large-scale ones, need a combination methods such as written tests, group discussions and reference checks besides interview.