Is teaching people over 65 to use computers the best way to spend government money? To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, many people are of the opinion that training the elderly on how to use technology devices is one of the great ways that the government can consider to spend public expenditures. I strongly believe that this way will have positive effects on aging people.

Familiarizing old people with data processors and raising their personal computer knowledge makes them more confident in society. Basic digital literacy, such as browsing through internet or sending email, can make them self-sufficient in the absence of other assistance. Hence, they can use these skills to be involved in several activities, such as social media or online platforms. In some regions, the elderly who acquire these skills have shown to feel less lonely compared to their peers with participate in online platforms.

Additionally, electronic devices can shorten the distance between grandparents and their descendants. As the young generation spends most of their time on social media, their grandparents can communicate with them frequently by acquiring digital skills. Training how to use data processors is not only a great way to keep in touch with families, but also it is an efficient way to socialize and make connections with other people, which can lead to well-being and improve mental health in the retirement period.

To conclude, it is undeniable that spending government budget on training aged people benefits them in different ways, such as raising confidence in society, feeling less lonely, learning new skills, establishing new friends, and keeping in touch with their families.