Is teaching people over 65 to use computers the best way to spend government money? To what extent do you agree?

For elderly people, few things are more important than learning how to use computers. In many developed and developing countries, a significant amount of money is spent on teaching computers, as it often requires a number of computers-related implements, such as programming, hardware upgrades, software tools, and so on. Nowadays, many may agree with me that today’s society has almost erased all its borders and will soon be limitless in what concerns learning computer usage for aging people. However, I would like to say that the government should spend money on teaching aging people computer usage.

Naturally, learning computers in the form of development is considered more crucial for elderly people, creating boundless facilities for living standards that are not available from other sources. It also proves to be highly advantageous for elderly people across all sectors. Since people in need of development are trying to pursue their happiness through computers, it becomes necessary to spend large sums of money on learning to use computers to enhance modern standards of livelihood and development. If this is adopted by the governments and even individuals, many elderly people can potentially benefit. Teaching aging people the usage of computers in China and Japan, for example, has become a pivotal model for development, providing better services for aging people.

In some circumstances, elderly people avoid learning computers due to facing various challenges, such as mental and physical crises, financial difficulties, poor environmental quality, lack of support, technological barriers, and feelings of emptiness and monotony. Although the concept of teaching aging people computer usage is valued by many large cities around the world, many more elderly people of poor and developing countries have to experience an empty pocket and negative effects on their physical and mental health, social lives, and access to work and culture if they choose to accept this strategy. Therefore, the idea of learning computers is not always an attractive one. From economic, social, and national perspectives, if aging people’s objectives require that learning computers is not a choice but a necessity, they can opt to take it up.

However, it is a responsibility of the government and elderly people to evaluate the idea of computers and decide whether they will do more harm than good. It seems clear, therefore, that it is a good idea to take an interest in learning computers for aging people.