It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and better language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that reading helps enhance imaginative thinking and linguistic skills more than watching TV does. From my viewpoint, I agree with that statement and this essay will elucidate my stance by giving some persuasive rationales.

First and foremost, reading is considered as the best way to learn language, especially in fields of vocabularies and structure grammars. It allows individuals access to an extensive array of vocabulary and nuanced syntactic structures, facilitating a profound grasp of language. Furthermore, people can miss information or take much time to comprehend one linguistic program by watching TV because of its fast pace, thereby hindering people from understanding it. Reading, nevertheless, allows people to contemplate one story’s content or even learn new words by heart as people have plenty of time.

Another noticeable advantage of reading is that people can develop creativity as well as imagination. For example, through the process of reading, a person can imagine the context and images in their head, which helps exert multiple and diverse thoughts in one realistic situation. Reading also helps people to gain a deeper understanding of a story, therefore, as a result, they can be more sympathetic to those characters in that story. Watching TV, by contrast, can distract people from thinking about ideas. To give more details, while watching television, people have a tendency to focus on commercial and entertaining programs, which do not contribute anything to form a creative brain. Moreover, if advertisements often interrupt one’s programs, as a result, the flow of thinking of people will be stopped and it is very challenging for them to continue.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that both ways have their own functions to assist people in imagining and improving language skills. However, I am inclined that the advantages of reading will outstrip watching TV for those aforementioned reasons