It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and better language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether readers’ imagination and linguistic ability can be more developed than those of people who watch TV. I disagree with this notion because both activities have their particular advantages in different aspects.

There are several compelling reasons why reading can help people enrich their imagination as well as their writing and reading skills. With regard to the former, books or articles are primarily textual documents with few pictures. To interpret the narrative flow of a book, readers need to engage their brain to visualize and imagine the scenarios. Due to the practice and frequency, their creative ability develops to a great extent. As for the latter, people who consider reading as a hobby get better at vocabulary and grammar skills. Critical and analysis thinking skills honed through exposure to textual interpretation also contribute to improving writing and grammar proficiency. Therefore, reading habits play a pivotal role in success.

Additionally, for those who prefer watching TV or videos, this activity can also boost their imagination. Exposure to details on screens enhances their color perception and sensitivity to motion so that they have unique perspectives on designs or products related to logic and creativity. Furthermore, the audio-visual stimuli from videos create favorable conditions for individuals to subconsciously learn a certain language while enjoying entertainment content, thereby improving their oral and listening skill.

In conclusion, both watching TV and reading books foster imagination and enhance language skills. In my opinion, these activities complement each other and collectively aid in the development of our cognitive abilities, especially realms of imagination and linguistics proficiency.