It has been suggested that in the not-too-distant future, people will take their holidays on the moon. How realistic do you think this is? What type of holidays do you think people will take in the future?

In the modern world, technology is developing very fast, and some people believe that in the nearest future humans will spend their holidays on moon. It sounds like a science fiction movie. In my opinion, this thought is interesting but not very realistic so far.

First of all, traveling to the moon is still extremely expensive and dangerous. Companies like SpaceX and NASA are working on the development of the space sphere. In April, NASA conducted a manned moon flyby mission Artemis-2. Only four astronauts have been there, and even for them it required years of training. The cost is extremely high, probably millions of dollars. Also space travel is still uncomfortable; the human body is not designed for zero gravity or space radiation. Therefore, while a few very rich adventurers might go to the moon, it will not be a normal holiday destination for ordinary families in the future.

So what type of holidays will people actually take in the future? To my mind, all holidays will still be on Earth, but they will change in two important ways. First, virtual reality will become very popular. Instead of traveling for many hours, people might put on a VR headset and “visit” the pyramids in Egypt or walk on a beach in Australia from their leaving room. It is cheap, fast, and environmentally friendly. Second, people will look for real experiences close to nature. As cities become bigger and noisier, many will want to escape to quite mountains, forests, or small eco-friendly islands. Holidays will be less about shopping and more about health, relaxation, and learning new skills.

In conclusion, moon holidays are not realistic for ordinary people in the near future due to high cost and safety issues. Instead, future holidays will likely be a mix of virtual reality adventures and simple, nature-based trips on Earth. Technology will offer us new choices, but the desire to relax and connect with nature will probably never change.