It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. Dinosaurs, dodos …) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that there are no compelling reasons for us to protect animal species from extinction as it occurs naturally. Although this opinion manifests the respect for natural laws, I disagree with it for the indifference displayed to humans’ future.

Before setting forth arguments against these determinists, I hope to discuss the reasonable elements in their perspectives. Extinction is the mechanism by which natural selection prunes the poorly adapted and allows the hardiest to flourish, species constantly go extinct, and every species that is alive today will one day follow suit. In addition, extinction is how evolution proceeds, for instance within a few million years of the asteroid that killed the dinosaurs, the post-apocalyptic void had been filled by an explosion of diversity – modern mammals, birds, and amphibians of all shapes and sizes. This biodiverse might lead to a rich ecosystem such as tourism development initiatives and generate employment opportunities.

Nevertheless, I believe that preventing endangered animals is generally a better option. The first reason is that animals play a significant role in maintaining the balance of the ecosystem. They disperse seeds, control pest populations, and support plant growth through pollination. Their interactions create a web of life, ensuring biodiversity and sustaining the health of our planet. For example, one study showed that petting our cats and dogs is able to release oxytocin, its increasing trust between people, increasing the tolerance of pain, and reducing stress and anxiety.

In conclusion, it seems evident that both sides of the idea have their own unique advantages, but I maintain that we should be conscious of protecting and diminishing the extinct of ecosystems.