It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct ( e.g dinosours, dodos, etc. ) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some species, like dinosaurs and Pinta Island tortoises, have indeed gone extinct due to natural causes. There is a view extrapolated from this that suggests we should not make any effort to prevent other animals from facing the same fate. I fully disagree with this view.

It is true that some species face extinction due to the natural causes. For example, dinosaurs died out because of the devastating asteroids impact that ended their reign of more than 180 million years. Another example is the Great Auk, which vanished due to environmental changes, such as rising sea levels and reduced food availability.

However, these natural extinctions should not be an excuse for neglecting conservation efforts to protect other species. In fact, many animals are threatened by human activities. The most famous example is the dodo which has been overhunting by poachers. Moreover, humans are cutting down trees, which causes forests to be wiped out. Thus, it affects birds and wildlife. If many species die out due to human causes, it is only morally right for humans to protect them.

Another reason, perhaps a selfish one, is that the extinction of species could negatively impact our own survival. For instance, we rely on species for food, medicine, and other purposes. Government should conserve species by shutting down some factories and humans should focus on not polluting the seas. Species are connected in complex ecosystems, and the loss of one species can disrupt the entire food chain. If we fail to act now, future generations may face serious environmental and economic consequences.

To conclude, while it is true that some species, like dinosaurs, became extinct due to natural causes, the belief that we should not protect other species is fundamentally flawed. Protecting their survival is not only a moral duty but also crucial for our own survival.