It is argued that companies should focus primarily on maximizing profits for their shareholders. Others contend that companies have a wider responsibility to contribute positively to society and protect the environment, even if it affects profitability. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many companies nowadays differ in their purposes. Some companies operate in order to raise their profits and by which they can meet up with their shareholders’ expectations. While other companies and institutions have genuine intentions to contribute to society. To me, I unwaveringly believe that there should be a balance between these two kinds of purposes, which is a key component to form an economy

To begin with, many people argue that shareholders’ purposes should be prioritized. As long as they maintain the companies, they stand by their funds. For instance, in the 1980s in the USA, there was no constitutional law that indicated the shareholders’ rights. Therefore, many companies had tricked those people in order to fund them and then not obligate what they’ve asked for. The results of this are that many shareholders decided to cut their funds off, depriving the markets from billions of dollars.

On the other hand, some people believe that the companies main purpose isn’t just satisfying shareholders. They believe that companies are part of the community and obliged to contribute to society. For instance, companies like Apple and Microsoft fund minorities in society, such as cancer children, disabled people, and poor families. They believe that all companies should be obligated to these contributions in society.

In conclusion, people’s opinions on this topic radically differ. To me, I firmly believe that companies should put their shareholders and the volunteer work in the same priority list.