It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As we approach a world of escalating crime rates and malfunctioning family dynamics, the question of whether parents should be punished because of their children’s criminal acts has gained traction. While parents should assume responsibility of their children’s action, as parental supervision can lay a solid foundation for shaping a child’s behavior, I firmly believe that it is children themselves who must be held accountable for their wrongdoings.

There are compelling reasons why parents should take consequences of their children’s crimes, since parental negligence is often regarded as a root cause of juvenile delinquency. When parents, who are first educators and moral guides in a child’s life, fail to dedicate sufficient time, attention, practical guidance, and emotional support, children are likely to seek acceptance in harmful environments, which in turn heightens the risk of developing delinquent behaviors. As a result, they may become involved in different criminal activities, such as bullying and theft, thereby jeopardizing their future and experiencing guilt and low self-esteem. In a world where illicit activities have been increasing at an alarming rate and family structures have been weakening, parental inadequacy can exacerbate matters even further, potentially increasing the risk of juvenile crime.

In my view, however, children should only be responsible for their own actions as they have the ability to distinguish right from wrong. As parents feel compelled to meet unbearable deadlines and work long hours to provide necessary education, food, and healthcare, they may not be able to constantly monitor their children’s behavior, especially during adolescence. Consequently, rather supporting their parents by studying diligently and conducting themselves responsibly, children choose to join negative social circles, where they have to conform to the group behaviors in order to be accepted, whether these include drug use or criminal act.

In conclusion, although some think that parents should be punished for their offspring’s offences, this view underestimates the responsibility of children to act appropriately. Considering these factors, I totally agree that children should face legal accountability, as such strict measures can make them more responsible for their misconduct and ultimately can reduce crime rates among teenagers.