It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that parents should face consequences when their children break the law. To a certain extent,I admit that children can be influenced by external factors outside parental control.However,I believe that parents’ responsibility is to guide their children’s behaviour until adulthood.

I admit that parents should not always be blamed because children can be influenced by outside factors parents cannot control.These include social media,toxic environment and violent movies.For instance,children who grow up in poor areas with high crime rates may commit crimes because of the environment around them,and parents cannot always move to a safer place.

Despite external influences,I strongly believe that parents should face consequences in most cases.The main reason is that parents are responsible for their children’s actions until adulthood.If parents fail to provide proper guidance,children may think illegal behaviour is acceptable.For instance,a teenager who repeatedly steals might do so because parents never explained consequences at home.In addition,holding parents accountable for their children’s actions might encourage them closer supervision and help prevent teenage crime.When parents are aware that they get punished for their children’s actions,they will supervise their children’s activities,friends and online behaviour more carefully.For example,in some regions parents face consequences if their children are caught in vandalism,and this had led to a drop of teenage crimes.

In conclusion,although external factors such as toxic environments,social media and violent movies influence children’s actions,I believe parents should be accountable for their children’s crime in most cases.If parents fulfill their responsibility properly,rates of teenage crime would most likely decrease.