It is becoming very common these days for students to take courses over the Internet instead of in face-to-face classrooms.Why are more students choosing this way of learning?Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it has become increasingly common for students to take their courses over the internet rather than using the traditional method of learning. This could be due to the flexibility of online classes. However, I believe that it is a negative trend.

Undeniably, the internet has made learning very flexible and that is because, it does not interrupt the regular engagements of most students. For instance, students who are working can proceed with their studies without quitting their jobs and make income to financially support their parents in funding their education. Also, the stress and expenses of travelling for hours to their schools are eliminated with online classes. They can stay in the comfort of their homes and receive lectures without breaking a bank. These factors combined contribute to the flexibility of internet classes, which is why most students choose it over the traditional classes.

Nonetheless, I believe that learning via the internet is a negative trend, because most students tend to mult-task while learning online. For instance, a number of students may prefer to cook or wash their dishes while classes are ongoing. Some students may get distracted as a result of that and eventually fail. All these may not be possible in the classrooms because students are often supervised by their teachers. A recent study revealed that more than one-third of graduates from institutions that offer online programs are not competent in their professions. This further suggests that the rising number of students studying through the internet is a negative development.

In conclusion, the internet has facilitated flexible learning, making it easier for students to study while engaging in other productive activities, which may be difficult to achieve in the traditional face-to-face classrooms. However, I believe that more students opting to study via online platforms is not a positive development.