It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this? In your essay, provide extended arguments supported by relevant evidence.

In the modern world, the majority of students in high schools and universities are starting to prioritize STEM disciplines. This might stem from career opportunities that employees could achieve and the essential critical thinking and problem-solving skills that people are able to acquire in STEM-related fields.

First of all, in the technology-driven society, there is a need to create new technologies and upgrade those that already exist. Therefore, workers with computer literacy and the ability to calculate are in high demand in various fields, such as IT, science, engineering, and mathematics. Not only do students who are focused on STEM disciplines have more opportunities to find lucrative and fulfilling careers, but they also remain competitive in the modern job market due to the hard skills they possess. For instance, nowadays, employers in huge companies, such as Yadro, Yandex, or T-bank, are finding young employees who are competent in programming and have fundamental knowledge in maths.

Moreover, STEM disciplines encourage students to acquire skills connected with innovation, problem-solving, and critical thinking that are vital in the modern world. When people solve complicated math tasks, try to write code or an appropriate prompt, they often adapt various approaches, go through trial and error, and begin to think outside the box to come up with the best solution. In terms of IT specialists, they always seek important information on the Net and learn how to verify it and adapt it to their specific problems.

In conclusion, many students are interested in STEM disciplines because this field offers various career opportunities, making employees who are focused on technology, science, and mathematics more competitive, and allows people to possess critical thinking skills and trial-and-error approaches.