It is common these days to see celebrities advertising different products. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, advertising industry are using famous people especially celebrities to boost sells for novel products. While celebrity endorsement can encourage people more to buy, its drawbacks such as consumerism and celebrities’ bad image can outweight its positive points.

On the one hand, including celebrities in advertisements bring about many benefits. One of the main positive points about superstars endorsing a new product is that people are more likely to believe them as they have built faith in people’s heart by performing in numerous films. Thus, promoting a product makes individuals believe that it is a worthwhile item to buy. In addition, since celebrities have glamourse lifestyles and always try to use most recent and high quality goods, people tend to think that as they advertise these things, they use them in their daily lives and try to purchase them.

However, celebrity endosement has its own drawbacks. First, some stars find advertising as a source of revenue, so they take part in promotions of product that they are not sure of its quality just to receive exorbitant cheques. As a result, if consumers are not satisfied with the product, they complain about it and this reach to medias and ruin those stars’ reputation. Another disadvantages is overpurshasing. In other words, fans of superstars purchase unnecessary items just because their role model advertise it and this reaults in rampant consumerism. For example, BTS fans bought socks from a specific brand, only because their superstar purchased them without needing them.

In conclusion, although celebrities appearance in commercials can increase the sell by raising the popularity of new product, not only can enticing people to buy low quality items build them bad reputation, but it also conributes to consumer society. I believe its negative impacts on people and society far outweight its positive effects.