It is common these days to see celebrities advertising different products. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s modern society, using celebrities are tended to use by companies to promote their products. Although, being promoted products by famous people can have some advantages, I believe the disadvantages side are more significant.

On the one hand, famous people who have a lot of fans, and great influence help improve image of businesses. Celebrity images will be associated with the brand, and the more famous people are used, the more bussiness having trust from consumers. Then, the competition will increase, which makes the products different. Moreover, this type of advertising can increase the attraction from celebraties’ fans, who can tend to support products that people they admire are ambassadors. For instance, Dior, which is a famous brand of beauty saw profits grown up about 400 percent after having a singers named Jisoo as a representative. Besides that, if products are good enough, and meeting consumers needs, people would believe not only the bussinesses but also the famous people. This can help to improve revenue and profits of both celebrities and companies.

On the other hand, to hire a famos people promoting products, the businesses have to pay an enormous amount of money. Of course this can be much higher than hiring just normal advertising person, and then lead to declining in earning profit or the increasing in products price, which can make companies be facing with the unwilling in buying their goods. Furthermore, they way people see advertiser is also they way they see goods. There would be a big problem when celebrities having scandals which can have several negatives effects to product consumption. It simply understand that there would be a large amount of famous people’s fans may no longer loving not only them but also the products which are promoted by them.For example, women nowadays tend to use beauty products which are advertised by famous idols from Korea who usually have healthy skin, and when these products do not help to improve there skin, they would share to their acquaintances about this false advertising, which can lead to the turning away of consumers from businesses.

In conclusion, more and more celebrities are hired to promote goods from many conpanies. While this trend can bring some advantages like attract attention, and enhance brand image to promote competitiveness, the disadvantages are more apparent with both businesses and famous people such as high hiring, and big problems when celebrities having scandals.