It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that kids should have the ability to distinguish the contrast of right and wrong as early as possible. I do think that offering some punishments is beneficial to help them distinguish well, but I also think the punishments need to be offered in proper ways.

Children can gain various lessons from the punishments offered by their teachers and families when dealing with distinguishing whether things are correct or false, but I believe that the ways need to be offered moderately. Most of the time, giving penalties to our children is the better way to let kids be aware of the correctness of things than just simply telling them by words. However, the methods need to be selected carefully; otherwise, that can result in bad drawbacks. Every kid has a different level of sensitivity and a separate character. If we choose inappropriate methods, that may disturb the expected way of kids’ healthy personality development. For example, if some sensitive children think that they have suffered from tough punishments, the traumatized memories of the overwhelming penalties may not be going to disappear, and they may even keep being triggered by other things that relate to those memories when they grow up.

Here are some punishing methods that I think are appropriate enough for teachers and parents to use to educate kids. Firstly, teachers can reduce the play time of students when they make mistakes or do something improper, tell them the consequences of things they did in a serious tone and call their parents to school if that is necessary. Secondly, parents can tell their kids to do housework as a punishment, such as wash dishes, clean the floor and do the laundry. Then, there is a good way to teach the lessons to kids by decreasing their daily pocket money or canceling it. Finally, by watching the related touching movies, kids can be strongly impressed by the consequences of bad behaviours or the methods of distinguishing whether things are proper or not shown on the screen; therefore, it can have lasting effects during the whole process of growth.

In conclusion, I completely believe that the punishments are necessary for kids to learn the contrast between right and wrong, but I think people need to choose the methods of punishing patiently and moderately. By reducing kids play time, pocket money, and telling them to do housework, and so on, we can gain the effects.