It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is crucial for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at the beginning of the age. Some believe that punishment is mandatory to teach children about right and wrong, I agree that there can be limited punishments which are non-violent and any forms of physical torture.

On the one hand, early age is significantly important for the development of children’s psychology. Without any help parents or teachers, they won’t be able to differentiate the right and wrong. Parents should enforce kinds of punishment for the children’s enhancement of the mind. For example, they can reduce screen time like TV or similar digital products. To some extent, parents can restrict for a short period of time to go outside activity or play with others due to their wrong action.

On the other hand, every child spends a good amount of time learning from teachers in the school. In addition, if a child plays any form of misbehaving, the teacher can take some action such as keeping them standing in front of other students. As a result, it will set up the mind of the children that they have done wrong kinds of stuff. Furthermore, some teachers beat the children for their faults which is not acceptable for the children’s development, rather, it can lead them to mental trauma or disorders.

To sum up, identifying right and wrong is crucial for the children. And sometimes light punishment can be given for their improvement. But any form of physical torture is highly discouraged.