It is important for everyone, including young people, to save money for their future. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

• Some people argue that it is positive to compete at work, school and daily life, whereas others disagree saying that cooperation is better. I think that both these techniques can be beneficial depending on a situation.

• On the one hand, competition may motivate people to work more. By looking how hard their colleagues are working, employees are more likely to start making efforts too so as not to fall behind. The same is true for school, where ‘C’ – students start learning subjects better once put in the same class with ‘A’ – students to show that they are not inferior and can also study better. In daily life, in turn, people may want to become a better version of themselves by looking at their neighbor, who has been attending a gym for a while, and may eventually start doing sport as well. In this way, rivalry may change people’s lives for the better.

• On the other hand, cooperation may be more suitable, or even essential, in other cases. There can be some work procedures that a worker may not be able to do independently, such as surgical interventions which are usually performed in a group of three or more people. School life is not an exception too, because pupils have to sometimes cooperate with each other, while playing such team sports as football or basketball for example. Finally, all our life requires us to help one another on a daily basis, whether when parents help their children to take initial steps in education or when the children look after their parents later in life. In these cases, I believe collaboration is definitely superior to competition.

• In conclusion, while rivalry may, at times, encourage people to work more and become better, I think that during our working, studying or personal lives, there are cases when cooperation can be more advantageous or even essential