It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Nowadays, there are some controversial viewpoints on whether parents should give their children the chance to act independently and decide for themselves. However, in my opinion, despite the potential disadvantages of giving children choices, the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks. Parents should give their children the choices to decide, with the purpose of enhancing their maturity, self-sufficiency, and human potential.

One of the primary reasons for giving a wide range of choices to a child is to increase their maturity and self-sufficiency—qualities that are highly valued in both academic and professional settings. Children whose parents acted as supportive mentors have become mature and sophisticated individuals in the future because of an encouraging family that supported all decisions made by the children. For example, in all well-developed European countries, parents treat their children as miniature adults, giving them the opportunity to do what they wish to do. Hence, one of the most significant steps to raise an independent child is raising him or her with the freedom to opt.

Secondly, it is crucial to build personal boundaries along with having one’s own ideas, and parenting should help children create their own boundaries in order to overcome potential issues and build an integrated personality. Individuals who were taught to have their own opinions and to express them have effective problem-solving skills. For instance, it is mostly believed that people whose families restricted them from almost everything, including the opportunity to opt, have become dependent and immature, making them vulnerable to various problems in their lives.Therefore, it is vital to encourage children to have own opinions, with the purpose of helping them become complete human beings.

In conclusion, one of the most vital things in the relationships between family members is to respect all ideas and to support them. This practice of encouraging children to make their own decisions has become increasingly popular, providing many positive prospects for society.