It is important to take risk, in both their professional and personal life. Do the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a divergence of opinions amongst the significance of risk-taking, both in each individual’s professional and personal lives. This essay will consider the merits and demerits of risk-taking before concluding the firm belief that the prior inevitably outweighs the latter.

On the one hand, ventures are often not put on the line due to fears of failure and great damage, not least serious risks that deal with finance and health conditions that cannot be redone. If one sets one’s foot on the wrong path rather than heedfully considering, the subsequence could be costly or deadly. For instance, a patient who is fighting with cancer must make the decision of doing radiotherapy or chemotherapy in order to recover, yet these treatments do not guarantee its ultimate success, along with a plethora of side effects that could worsen their state of mental and physical health.

On the other hand, taking risks at times may result in greater prospects as it consequents in the optimal outcome. Even if the undesired outcome leases, one can still earn experiences and adjust one’s approach for the following attempt, which enriches one’s knowledge and strengthens one’s capability in life. An example of this is Picasso’s last investment to display his artwork by hiring a paper boy to go around the city and inquire about his paintings. Surprisingly, the plan worked and his name stayed renowned worldwide till this day.

In conclusion, though risks may cause irreversible ramifications in several situations, the possibility of success also relies on fortune. However, despite the desirability of the outcome, people could learn and shift through experiences regardless of its consequences.