It is more important to spend public money promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that preventing citizens from illness by using public budget to promote a healthy lifestyle is more crucial than using this money on patients who are already living in illness. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding with my point of view.

On the one hand, stimulating citizens to have a sustainable lifestyle to avoid sickness is necessary. Initially, it reduces health risks and the amount of medical fees. Consequently, mitigating financial pressure on their and their family shoulders. In addition, it develops the quality of people’s lives in general. The fewer sick patients, the more taxes will be used for improving public and entertaining facilities such as parks, streets and transportation.

On the other hand, spending public money on providing patients the best treatments should be prioritized. Firstly, it avoids injustice and conflicts in the society. It gives people who live in poverty the same opportunities to approach medical care as wealthy citizens. Therefore, when no one in the community feels left behind or unfairly treated, conflicts between social classes will decline significantly. Secondly, helping dwellers that are living in sickness is more urgent than encouraging them to live a better life. Due to the fact that, using money to promote inhabitants to adopt a healthier lifestyle does not ensure that they will; however, spending this money on treatments for patients ensures they are capable of feeling physically and mentally better.

In conclusion, I am not convinced that using public budget on a healthier lifestyle is more important than providing treatment for ill people. Because of that, I believe that helping patients is a priority.