It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the aid of transportation technologies, expeditions of researchers and travelers to distant isolated areas have been increasing recently. While this trend has disadvantageous aspects to some extent, I assume that the merits would overshadow them.

On the one hand, this development poses threats to certain groups, namely the local people and the government. As far as the former is concerned, indigenous residents from remote areas would suffer from the drawbacks stemming from the development of tourism in their living areas. Although tourism could generate job opportunities for the local people, it would lead to the commercialization of the local cultures. Traditional practices and customs may be altered to adapt the expectation of visitors. This culture erosion could consequently weaken the accountability of the community to preserve their identity and heritage. This is particularly true with the case of Sapa, Vietnam. Citizens have had to sacrifice their traditional homes to construct hotels and accommodations for tourists. As a result, future generations may lose touch with their cultural heritage. With regard to the latter, the explorations of scientists require a large amount of investment in researching and ensuring safety of scientists. This could limit financial resources of the government for other important sectors such as education, healthcare and social welfare, causing an imbalance in the allocation of national expenditure.

However, I believe the benefits of this trend must be highlighted . A prominent advantage of this development is that tourism can bring significant economic growth to remote areas. When travelers visit a distant area, they have to invest in a wide range of fees, such as food, accommodations, and souvenirs, which can boost the local economy. This influx of the revenues may enhance life standards of the community. For instance, Golden Bridge in the southern area of Vietnam attracted a vast majority of visitors. This contributed to a significant rise in the province’s GDP, and several households involved in catering services for tourists expanded their operations.When it comes to biologists, they potentially explore new remedies for human ailments during their expeditions to remote areas. They study unique flora and fauna found in these regions, and search for compounds and medicinal plants which could lead to the advancement in new cures and treatments.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the negative aspects of this trend are eclipsed by more positive ones.