It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, traveling to remote natural environments, such as The South Pole, is no longer impossible. As for this matter, I believe that despite the viability for economic and research benefit from tourism, traveling to secluded areas may bring more harm rather than benefits due to environmental concerns.

It is true that the unusual features of remote areas will offer extraordinary tourism experience and open up new possibilities of scientific discoveries if they are easy to reach by the public. Isolated areas such as the Arctic have their own attraction, therefore creating an opportunity for a large income from tourism. For example, there was a lot of interest in the travel opportunity to the Titanic shipwreck site even though the price was expensive before it was stopped. Moreover, researchers may also do more research on the spot which helps them to discover new things such as new organisms or even technologies.

However, traveling to an isolated place will harm the environment nearby since it is hard to ensure that everyone will take care of the surroundings. Like any other places, secluded areas also have their own habitat, and visitors possess harm toward it. They may litter, pick endangered plants, kill animals, and other destructive behaviour. Not only the tourist, the scientist may also do harm toward the area. Overcultivation of the land for research purposes and irresponsible waste management are the main threats from the activity.

Additionally, the chance of over development also threatens the remote area if it is easily accessible. The Arctic, for instance, is highly sensitive toward any changes since their geological structure is fragile. This condition means that the land on the Arctic can not be over developed or otherwise, it will collapse. As a result, tourism and research facilities will cause harm for the area.

In general, although the opportunities to travel to the isolated area may generate profits both economically and scientifically, the drawbacks outweigh it. Traveling to a remote area will damage the place, and over development will also harm the land.