It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, scholars and tourists have numerous opportunities to travel to remote natural environment. Some people might believe that the advantages brought by such development outweigh the disadvantages, yet I have an opposite perspective.

On the one hand, opportunity to travel to remote natural environment expands scholars research capacity. As scientists do their explorations to understand how the whole world is coordinated or how particular objects work , they tend to discover crucial things. So giving them extra area for research could definitely increase chances of revelations. In 1997, U.S conducted the first ever experiment on material’s behavior in space, and irrespective of how bizarre it could sound , the soft matrasses that people lie on were designed thanks to the results of the experiment. Additionally, any trip, whether to remote area or neighbor country, requires money. For governments and private tour guides, it brings more opportunities to earn money. For example, more than half of North part of Australia relies on tourists interest to visit remote natural areas.

On the other hand, anything ever touched by human hand barely remains the same. Given that remote natural areas were in healthy state initially, we have only few remote areas that did not suffer from effects of irresponsible human activity. For instance, space had never had trash from Earth, yet today, the entire Milky Way is flooded by defunct satellites and human waste bags. Movies which were filmed to demonstrate how spacecrafts dodge unfunctional satellites, only emphasize the intensity of this problem.

In conclusion, while developments that give tourists and scholars opportunities to travel to remote natural environments have some advantages, I believe that its disadvantages outweigh them.