It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In some countries, it is true that there are less students opting for scientific subjects to study. This might be determined by several factors, and I believe that there would be both benefits and disadvantages to our society.

It is understandable why there is a lack of students considering science not important. Firstly, as science has multiple branches, it is invariably demanding. Individuals are required to have a wide knowledge, such as physics, biology, chemistry, technology. Moreover, they have to conduct a lot of research into their chosen field, and carry out experiments and practices by themselves. Finally, relatively high tuition fees, accompanied by a long period of time studying, are one of the deciding factors which influence students’ choices.

Because less individuals choose to study science as a primary subject, universities or colleges would need much less lecturers. Therefore, their budgets would be earmarked for the development of modern facilities, as well as the recruitment of high-quality experts. Additionally, there would be more concentration on other subjects, for example, history, philosophy, literature, thus leading to improvement in educational quality and pupils’ performance. This would lead to a great number of scholars in these fields, fostering the significance of human studying.

However, there are several drawbacks when science is considered not playing a pivotal role in our life. I acknowledge that science lays the foundation for the development of almost everything. For instance, medical knowledge has helped prevent millions of people from getting illnesses, and new substances created by the scientists are existing in everyday life, such as shields made from spider webs. Without these contributions, it is hard to envision an ideal society in which science and technology are well exploited.

In conclusion, we should never assume that science is not necessary, but rather considering the advantages it could bring.