The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, there has been increasing concern about of violence shown in films and television programs. Some people believe that governments should regulate some content in order to reduce crime in society. Meanwhile, I would partially agree with the above statement to a major extent, and reasons to support it will be explained in the ensuing paragraphs, along with examples.

Discussing the reasons to support my agreement, the most evident one is violent media is not the primary cause of crime in society. To justify it further, in many cases, criminal behaviour is liked to social problems such poverty, unemployment and lack of education. People facing financial difficulties or poor living conditions are more likely to engage in illegal activities. Therefore, violence in films alone would not significantly decrease crime rates. Furthermore, another one of the supporting reasons for my belief is parents should take responsibility. To be more precise, parents should set time limit for using mobile phone or social media, also they can control what their children watch on digital ecosystems. Consequently, if parental guidance and media ratings are given to students, children may not be influenced by digital platforms and mitigate the rates of violence.

However, on the other side should not be disregarded. The most significant argument is the violent media can influence young people. To be more specific, children and teenagers are more likely to follow behaviour they see in movies and television programs. For instance, some teenagers copy aggressive actions they watch in action films or crime dramas.

In conclusion, although the violent media can influence young people, poverty and unemployment rate is cause of crime in society, and parents should take responsibility.