The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been increasing concerns about the circulation of movies with elements of violence. While some contend that the government should establish boundaries for violent content, others argue that these films have to be banned. In my opinion, violence in movies should only be limited, not prohibited.

On the one hand, it is understandable why violent films should be banned, because it can leave a negative influence on people’s psyche. Due to the internet and pirated movie websites, if not supervised carefully, children can gain access to age-inappropriate films. In the case of adults, the popularity of villain protagonists can lead to misunderstandings that the antisocial behaviors portrayed are encouraged. What is alarming is these young people are impressionable and therefore, can establish riotous behaviors after prolonged exposure. For example, in Japan, a 24-year-old man dressed up as “The Joker” – a notorious fictional villain – and set a train on fire after stabbing fellow passengers. However, the majority of individuals can set a boundary between real life and fiction, thus, banning violent films is rather excessive.

On the other hand, violent films are a form of entertainment for a part of audiences and therefore, should not be prohibited. These viewers find joy from the thrill and excitement offered by violent elements in movies, so forbidding their hobbies for the sake of a minority of audiences equals practicing injustice upon these individuals. Furthermore, without actions, movie makers will lack a key ingredient in building films’ charms. Nowadays, 90% of movies are sprinkled with violence, as even the slightest form of physical conflicts can be considered violent. Consequently, filtering savage elements will be a tantalizing task and oftentimes impossible as it would dull the plotline. Therefore, the optimal solution would be to restrict the appearance of gratuitous and extreme violence in movies.

In conclusion, although there are reasonable arguments as to why violent films must be banned, the best solution is to regulate violent contents based on their levels.