The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recognised by some people that the government ought to control the number of inappropriate plots like violence in film and on television for the decrease of violent crimes in society. In my opinion, I partly agree with this idea.

The main idea of restricting the appearance of violence in video content is to reduce the possibility that people may imitate negative behaviours presented and perpetrate crimes. Aside from moral standards and behaviour norms, another significant factor causing some people to commit crimes is the lack of the ability to distinguish between right and wrong. Without correct education and guidance, these people may not realise the consequences of negative behaviours; they may just follow the violent content demonstrated in films and hurt others in real life just to get thrilled. Therefore, reducing the frequency of violent plots in videos can substantially decrease the opportunities these people can contact, potentially making these people unable to imitate the violent behaviours to become aggressive.

However, completely attributing criminal behaviours to violent plots in films is improper. Films, as a way of artistic expression, are a reflection of reality but go far beyond it. In order to attract audiences, a film cannot just illustrate simple life-related content but needs eye-catching ideas to be outstanding. Most audiences need topics like fantasy, horror and war to be interested, and violence is one of the out-of-ordinary elements that attract people to the largest extent, making films more commercially successful. Meanwhile, showing violent content to audiences is a crucial way to let them obtain a deeper feeling of the characters, making the watching experience more engaging, which is also a measure to emphasise the main idea of a film. Furthermore, People who have conducted a correct value system should hardly be affected by these plots because they are capable of discriminating between reality and fantasy, it is not violent plots which should be blamed for criminal behaviours in a society.

In conclusion, although violent content may mislead some people who cannot distinguish between right and wrong, however, it is not the decisive aspect causing crimes.