It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In some parts of the world, fewer students have opted for science majors. This issue may stem from several causes and lead to detrimental impacts.

There are numerous reasons contributing to the lack of graduates in science studies. First, the opportunity for better career development in the science majors is limited compared to the new ones. Currently, with the boom of artificial intelligence and the expansion of social media platforms, a large number of jobs, such as KOLs or testers, require less understanding of physics or chemistry and bring more promising starting salaries. Second, numerous occupations related to science demand a plethora of academic research, which may take time and money to pursue in the long run. For example, in biology, to publish papers, researchers are required to make experiments in laboratories as well as make use of expensive devices to analyze the results.

A shortage of students in science subjects can result in adverse impacts. Firstly, this may hinder technological breakthroughs, which are a part of continual development in human society. Specifically, basic mathematical formulas or new findings in physics and chemistry have been the foundations of cutting-edge technologies improving living standards. For instance, without the CRISPR-CAS9 found by chemists, gene editing cannot develop to remove oncogenes, which cause cancers. Second, there will be a lack of policymakers who can consider the long-term benefits for the countries. If only a few majors, namely, engineering or IT, are prevalent, sustainable development of the environment will be neglected. Consequently, this may cause the degradation of ecosystems in numerous nations due to the construction of various skyscrapers and the manufacturing of advanced technologies.

In conclusion, fewer students tend to choose science studies due to several factors, and this may contribute to numerous problems hindering the development of human society.